• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 22, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 169

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 22, 2018
    10
    Five seasons in and Bojack Horseman remains one of those rare shows that consistently knock it out of the park.

    This show has always been a dramedy that mixes smart jokes and some goofy humor with dark, at times very dark, observations of the human condition. This show changes the pattern by increasing the amount of darkness. What plays out is a character study, where the main
    Five seasons in and Bojack Horseman remains one of those rare shows that consistently knock it out of the park.

    This show has always been a dramedy that mixes smart jokes and some goofy humor with dark, at times very dark, observations of the human condition. This show changes the pattern by increasing the amount of darkness. What plays out is a character study, where the main characters mostly find themselves struggling with their histories and actions, and of course who has more skeletons in their closet than Bojack. Even Todd, who usually has the more humorous story-lines, struggles a bit with wanting human connection while also being asexual. It took me a couple episodes to adjust, but man is this new approach enthralling.

    This season follows the filming of Bojack's new show Philbert, which provides an excellent base showcasing the many inherent problems of the Hollywood system, including the causes of the MeToo movement. The show takes jabs at itself as it tackles the popularity of people behaving badly/antihero shows and their potential of normalizing negative behavior. Brooklyn Nine-Nine's Stephanie Beatriz plays Bojack's new costar Gina, and for a supporting player does an excellent job of playing a jaded actress approaching her forties, doing her best to survive in the business.

    Narratively, this is their most experimental season. The highlight here, which even rivals the mostly silent episode from season three, is the eulogy one. The brunt of it is Bojack just giving a monologue, something that doesn't scream the animated format, but between the crackejack writing, the sheer emotion, and what may well be Will Arnett's best performance, is a powerhouse half-hour. The show also continues its excellent habit of utilizing plot points set up ahead of time. There are a lot of payoffs here.

    Though there are fewer jokes this season, they still nail it. Todd has a wacky scheme here that is a worthy successor to his clown dentistry from last season.

    Despite changes, fans should be rest assured that this is a very smart season.
    Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2018
    9
    Finally this show tackles the meta narrative of its effects on viewers. Too often I have seen people getting the wrong message of acceptance from this show.
  3. Sep 17, 2018
    9
    How and why this show is not getting any Emmys or other awards is a major injustice. This is the not only the best and smartest TV show on Netflix right now, but it's one of the greatest animated shows ever. While this season doesn't have the deep, emotional impact and resonance as the last season that was wrongfully snubbed by the Emmy's, its still excellent TV and acting. Keep up theHow and why this show is not getting any Emmys or other awards is a major injustice. This is the not only the best and smartest TV show on Netflix right now, but it's one of the greatest animated shows ever. While this season doesn't have the deep, emotional impact and resonance as the last season that was wrongfully snubbed by the Emmy's, its still excellent TV and acting. Keep up the great work Raphael Bob-Waksberg, someday the Emmys will recognize your efforts and give you your due. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2018
    9
    It is absolutely astonishing how incredible this show is. It's continually hilarious and there is no other show that balances these themes quite so well.
  5. Sep 29, 2018
    8
    In it’s fifth season BoJack Horseman remains one of the best shows on TV, and arguably Netflix best show. It arguably doesn’t quite hit the highest heights of season four but the “show about a talking horse” yet again delivers real drama and character development amongst all the jokes.
  6. Sep 16, 2018
    9
    It's back with its self deprecating wit and charm with a main character that's painfully easy to project your bad feeling onto. i can only fault it for once again asking the big questions about depression and self destructive natures, only to not offer any real answers. That however doesn't make it any less enjoyable to watch in the moment
  7. Sep 16, 2018
    10
    I don't know how to explain the complexities of this show and specifically, this season as it's just beyond words how raw and close to the human experience this tv show is. I recommend it to anyone who has dealt with loss, loss of love, identity, sanity, happiness etc. it is a must watch. + Diane is **** amazing.
  8. Sep 15, 2018
    10
    There are many shows out there, but not many make you feel sad for the right reasons. With all of the live actions shows out there, why is it the one about the animated humanoid horse that feels the most human? This season has some of the most gut wrenching scenes and by far the best episode(and performance by Will Arnett) that the series has ever produced. I won't say which one as that isThere are many shows out there, but not many make you feel sad for the right reasons. With all of the live actions shows out there, why is it the one about the animated humanoid horse that feels the most human? This season has some of the most gut wrenching scenes and by far the best episode(and performance by Will Arnett) that the series has ever produced. I won't say which one as that is for you to discover. This season is fantastic and still makes me feel sad but in a way that also leaves me hopeful. For the characters of the show as well as myself. Expand
  9. Sep 15, 2018
    9
    What can ya' say? The only thing disappointing about this show is when you've watched all the episodes and you wish there were more. To the user who gave this season a 3 and another season of Bojack a 2, there's something fishy going on as these are the only 2 reviews this person has bothered to write. Something fishy......
  10. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    In conclusion this is the best show on tv right now with fantastic writing and performances can't wait till the next season
  11. Sep 15, 2018
    10
    Previous seasons of BoJack have had a mostly melancholy tone, and they spent a lot of time focusing on the depression of the different characters. The tone of season 5 feels more urgent and direct, characters have frank conversations with each other about their feelings/needs/desires far more often. It's still messy, heavy emotions are still involved, but things move forward. CharacterPrevious seasons of BoJack have had a mostly melancholy tone, and they spent a lot of time focusing on the depression of the different characters. The tone of season 5 feels more urgent and direct, characters have frank conversations with each other about their feelings/needs/desires far more often. It's still messy, heavy emotions are still involved, but things move forward. Character conflicts are almost always shown in shades of grey, there are very few black and white, good and bad conflicts, even those that might appear to be at first. Towards the end the season, events take a dark turn, possibly the darkest in the series yet. By the end, many, though not all, of the characters are learning to deal with their situations.

    Season 5 also has more moments of absurd gut busting hilarity than previous seasons (episode 2 and a running gag for the second half of the season are particular standouts). I was uncontrollably laughing at times.

    There are a ton of callbacks to previous seasons and a lot of fleshing out is done for the backstories of both major and minor characters. The payoffs feel extremely gratifying, there are a lot of "oooooohh, that's why!" moments. And, as always, there are visual and animal gags hiding everywhere. I can't wait to watch the season again and try to find as many of them as I can.

    Season 5 is not perfect, a few episodes feel like odd pacing choices and I would have liked to see a little more of Hollyhock, but BoJack is still the best thing on Netflix. It manages to convey such a wide array of emotions, and it does all of them better than most genre specific films and TV shows.
    Expand
  12. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    The best writing since Breaking Bad. Even exceeding it currently. can't wait for next season, and more of this story. Masterful.
  13. Sep 15, 2018
    8
    it's very good but the series does not hit the masterpiece levels of season 3
  14. Sep 27, 2018
    5
    Wanted to like it but the material was soooo bad, so predictable. "I didn't say I don't want to have a baby with you." Cutaway to scene where he runs away from a baby and says "I don't want to have a baby with her." Didn't see that coming. Hilarious. Says he'll have pages for his book in 1 week; fast forward 1 week, the guy he made that promise to is calling him and he forgot about theWanted to like it but the material was soooo bad, so predictable. "I didn't say I don't want to have a baby with you." Cutaway to scene where he runs away from a baby and says "I don't want to have a baby with her." Didn't see that coming. Hilarious. Says he'll have pages for his book in 1 week; fast forward 1 week, the guy he made that promise to is calling him and he forgot about the pages. No, really, he forgot, crazy funny right??

    That's every single joke. I love Futurama, South Park, seasons 1-3 of Family Guy, Simpsons - but this was such a bad attempt at what it wants to be that I had to make an account and save the world by writing this. You're welcome.
    Expand
  15. Sep 19, 2018
    4
    The transition from dramedy to a drama is complete. The new goal is to win Emmy's and awards instead of being a good show. The eulogy episode and the Vietnam episode might be the two worst episodes in Bojack history, yet those two episodes will probably win them the most awards. So it goes...
  16. Sep 14, 2018
    3
    This season was just awful. The episodes barely focused on character development as much as previous seasons and the storyline just keeps poking holes at itself with all the unnecessary flashbacks. The only good scenes in this season were the ones with Bojack acting on stage and going loony over drugs. That's it, I did not feel anything while watching this season. Also the episode ofThis season was just awful. The episodes barely focused on character development as much as previous seasons and the storyline just keeps poking holes at itself with all the unnecessary flashbacks. The only good scenes in this season were the ones with Bojack acting on stage and going loony over drugs. That's it, I did not feel anything while watching this season. Also the episode of Bojack's eulogy felt lazy. They could have kept it short and done so much more with the time they were given. The writers in Bojack Horseman are running out of content and that's clear to see. I hope season 6 just ends all of this madness in the best way possible because I don't see this getting better before it gets worse. Expand
  17. Sep 18, 2018
    0
    People really like this show, and I respect that. But to be honest they've kinda lost me along the way. I am not sure anymore what this is supposed to be, at the beginning it made me laugh, but then it just became a big thing about wallowing around in self pity. Bojack's daughter sucks, Todd sucks balls as well. Yeah, I hate this show now.
  18. Oct 7, 2018
    1
    Bojack was off to a great start for the first few series but once other people start to notice what I've noticed about Netflix shows it's going to go down as a prime example of how Netflix Executive meddling ruins shows.

    It's pretty clear at this point that if you want Netflix to fund and support your show that they give you hiring quotas for "marginalized" individuals. You start to see
    Bojack was off to a great start for the first few series but once other people start to notice what I've noticed about Netflix shows it's going to go down as a prime example of how Netflix Executive meddling ruins shows.

    It's pretty clear at this point that if you want Netflix to fund and support your show that they give you hiring quotas for "marginalized" individuals. You start to see the influence of executives in Series 4 where they utterly atrocious, unlikeable, boring, tedious character of Hollyhock is introduced.

    The more you watch this character and the plot surrounding her which is the first bad Bojack plotline you begin to come to the realization that Hollyhock doesn't exist because the show needed Hollyhock, Hollyhock is introduced because Netflix executives told the show creators that they needed to have more women and POCs in their show and that they had to come up with a character for Aparna Nancherla to play because she ticks those boxes and makes the Netflix execs feel good about themselves that their popular show wont mostly just be about the antics of two white men anymore.

    Of course this is all extremely short sighted because anyone who watched the show would already praise the characters of Diane and Princess Caroline.

    So after you've SLOGGGED through season 4 and started to dislike the show as Nancherla is given way more air time than her acting talent deserves and sat through far too many eye rolling jokes about her gay polyamorous dads you get to Season 5 and this is where it truly goes off the rails.

    In season 5 they start to bloat the show up with new characters, each more woke than the last. We have asexuals, lesbian black wives, every character has to have some sort of Buzzfeed victim point attributed to it exactly as if the creators of the show were given a quota to fulfill.

    You start to see this more and more with Netflix shows the more you watch them and once you notice it you'll realize the fulfillment of these quotas begins to impact the plot and characters you started to watch the show for in the first place. You start watching the show because you liked the nihilistic washed up horse.... but before you know it thats not what the show is about the show is about awkward asexual moments and a whiney young woman's incredibly badly acted daddy issues.

    Whatever this show had has been destroyed by executive meddling because Netflix is ashamed when it has a popular show where people watch and like watching storylines about men, even if those men happen to be horses.
    Expand
  19. Sep 29, 2018
    4
    The show deals a lot with depression and everyone seems to be buckling under the weight of their own brand of sadness in season 5. Diane keeps forcing characters to become self-effacing to their horrible characteristics instead of from a unique angle. I wish it was as fun as it used to be but I guess you can only keep up that kind of satire and depravity before you feel like you shouldThe show deals a lot with depression and everyone seems to be buckling under the weight of their own brand of sadness in season 5. Diane keeps forcing characters to become self-effacing to their horrible characteristics instead of from a unique angle. I wish it was as fun as it used to be but I guess you can only keep up that kind of satire and depravity before you feel like you should clarify that viewers are laughing about the right things and should be upset about others. Expand
  20. Oct 11, 2018
    8
    This was definitely the best season of Bojack Horseman yet, and the first that I may actually rewatch at some point. The show finally moved away from "feel bad for me because I'm rich and famous" and instead became "feel bad for me because I'm human", which makes the whole thing significantly more relatable. Not only that, the stories were cleverly presented and they were about things thatThis was definitely the best season of Bojack Horseman yet, and the first that I may actually rewatch at some point. The show finally moved away from "feel bad for me because I'm rich and famous" and instead became "feel bad for me because I'm human", which makes the whole thing significantly more relatable. Not only that, the stories were cleverly presented and they were about things that we've all gone through at some point in our lives, dealing with them in kinda the same way we all try to deal with them. This is the first season I can honestly recommend without hesitation or needing to say "skip these episodes". They were all pretty great. Expand
  21. Oct 10, 2018
    10
    Third season was the best one? Why not? Because 5th arrived? It's hard to decide. When 3rd season came, the show still was discovering itself, so that one united predecessor season's highest points and made Bojack Horseman a sensational show. But this new season elevated the show to a stratospheric level. With known elements like tragicomic humor, denouces about glamour life and nihilisticThird season was the best one? Why not? Because 5th arrived? It's hard to decide. When 3rd season came, the show still was discovering itself, so that one united predecessor season's highest points and made Bojack Horseman a sensational show. But this new season elevated the show to a stratospheric level. With known elements like tragicomic humor, denouces about glamour life and nihilistic moments elevated even more, making us laugh and feeling anguished at the same time and feeling an empathy for characters as we knew them in real life. Series brought cinematic moments that worked too. A content that doesn't need being low or absolutely explicit to slap society's face, cause everything works destroying watcher from inside. Bojack Horseman is a mandatory show. Expand
  22. Sep 16, 2018
    10
    This show creates a world rich in emotional, imaginative, and moral opportunities. As the show grows, it explores every corner of that world with insight, humor, and an impressive amount of discipline--considering its ridiculous premise. It's insane and insanely funny. Bojack Horseman is shaping up to be historically great.
  23. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    Another consistently great season. more of that different directions of experimental story telling! maybe i am strange but I even enjoyed that 1 episode with just bojack talking through the entire episode. i thought that was very fitting to the theme given the relationship between him and his subject person, everything was just between them. the writing was just exceptionally good.
  24. Oct 6, 2018
    9
    The show out-competes itself again, stronger. What Bojack and Diane have is precious, too precious, and that makes the entire season level beyond its original genre.
  25. Sep 17, 2018
    10
    The show-runners behind BoJack have nailed it again. Five seasons in a row and still having us expecting for the best to come on the next one.
    The Hollywood industry current climate depiction and jokes are on top, as well as the main characters finally confronting themselves for the sake of finding a better place for them; taking action into it. If previous seasons on BoJack were aplenty
    The show-runners behind BoJack have nailed it again. Five seasons in a row and still having us expecting for the best to come on the next one.
    The Hollywood industry current climate depiction and jokes are on top, as well as the main characters finally confronting themselves for the sake of finding a better place for them; taking action into it. If previous seasons on BoJack were aplenty on speculating about the characters psychology and on delivering poignant and unafraid existential ponder, season five (and hopefully, season six) calls all of them into a collision course that has no way back. This is them on their peak of realization, which brings us a truly fulfillment as viewers. If the characters from a show of a half-human, half-animal world can find redemption and improvement on their lives and we can learn form that, then it's time for us to come to terms with the fact that BoJack Horseman is the most accurate, visceral depiction reassembling real life on TV right now -or at the very least, on the animated adult series grill (something that for as absurd as the humorous situations may turn on here, doesn't lessen such credit). Splendorous!
    Expand
  26. Oct 17, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season is not my favorite, but not my least favorite either. I thought it was in general pretty great. There were some truly masterful scenes, but there were some scenes and even an episode or two that I didn’t like at all, but they were made fine by either the amazing writing or all the great characters. The the voice acting was amazing, and I even noticed that the quality in animation went way up. I also like that they took risks and had some really creative episode ideas, like the one where BoJack is the only character (except a brief scene with his father to open the episode, but Will Arnett voices both characters, so he was the only voice in the entire episode) in the episode, talking about his mother, his past, his present, and free churros at his mother’s funeral. This season, it really feels as if BoNack is just falling apart as a person. Things from his past are coming back to haunt him, and he becomes addict to painkillers to combat his fear and regret. And the entire situation with BoJack choking Gina was the one thing that was truly powerful and depressing. At that point, you realize that BoJack’s action are only going to get worse over time, and he’ll lose everyone and anyone that cares about him. Also, some scenes that could’ve been really powerful were undercut by comedy, which was annoying. Yes, there’s more and better comedy in this season, but it’s too much at points. Overall, it’s another season of ‘BoJack’, but I enjoyed it slightly less than previous seasons.

    Best Episodes: ‘Planned Obsolescence’, ‘Free Churro’, ‘Head in the Clouds’, ‘The Showstopper’, ‘The Stopped Show’

    Worst Episodes: ‘INT. SUB’, ‘Mr. Peanutbutter’s Boos’, ‘Ancient History’

    P.S. I noticed a ‘Mr. Robot’ reference. On the bulletin board in Flip’s office in episode 11, there are index cards that pretty much explain the plot of Mr. Robot’s second season. Also, Flip is voiced by Rami Malek, so that’s why it’s a ‘Mr. Robot’ reference, and it’s funny and it makes sense. Also, there are a lot of little things that Flip says that relate to ‘Mr. Robot’. Also, ‘Philbert’ has a similar plot to Mr. Robot.
    Expand
  27. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    Excellent, as always. It is a miracle how this show is able to grow with every season, somehow never falling into a parody of itself as the "depressed horse show". Instead it is always fresh and offers interesting insight into relationships and mental health while continuing to be laugh-out-loud funny. It was nice to see Bojack get as close to healthy as he's ever been in this season, andExcellent, as always. It is a miracle how this show is able to grow with every season, somehow never falling into a parody of itself as the "depressed horse show". Instead it is always fresh and offers interesting insight into relationships and mental health while continuing to be laugh-out-loud funny. It was nice to see Bojack get as close to healthy as he's ever been in this season, and Todd's self-awareness of his antics was turned to 11, which I enjoyed. Even Mr. Peanut Butter grew as a person, which is new. Oh, and watch out for the episode which is entirely just a single-scene monologue, masterfully delivered by Will Arnett. The monologue had me transfixed and entertained the entire time, which is amazing for just sitting there and listening to a guy talk for 30 minutes. Great job, great season, can't wait to watch the next one! Expand
  28. Oct 11, 2018
    8
    What do i have to say - it's good, old Bojack Horseman but with some more or less successful experiments.
  29. Oct 21, 2018
    7
    A hell of a lot of filler, but when this season is strong, it's super strong. There are some fantastic episodes scattered throughout this season, unfortunately bogged down by a lot of rushed and nonsensical filler.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Sep 17, 2018
    90
    In season five, BoJack Horseman brings all of that character development down around its ears, in a stretch of episodes that represents the most precise dissection of BoJack Horseman yet--and perhaps the first truly sustained artistic response to the #MeToo movement.
  2. Reviewed by: Lenika Cruz
    Sep 14, 2018
    90
    Philbert serves as a vehicle for BoJack’s ambitious meta-critique of how Hollywood consistently glorifies, humanizes, enables, and forgives bad men—fictional or otherwise. This critique operates on a few different levels, and only grows more complex as the season wears on.
  3. 90
    This visually arresting series becomes an illustrated stage production for a while, and amazingly, it works. It’s a terrific working-through of grief, particularly survivors’ realizations that they’re never going to get closure on all the issues that gnawed at the relationship between themselves and the deceased back when they were both alive and could’ve talked to each other. ... Either way, it’s all part of the larger, Mad Men–styled disconnect between intelligence and wisdom that BoJack portrays so well.